The paid subscription starts on completion of the free trial, automatically - this is to provide an uninterrupted experience. As per the Apple site, if you do not want to continue, you are required to cancel the trial before you are charged.
The free trial is an initial offer and is availed through AppStore using your Apple Account. A user can avail the trial only once. The trial and subscription are managed through Apple.